How do movies or television influence people’s behavior? Use reasons and specific examples to support your answer.

Movies and television are one of the top sources of entertainment for people .In addition to entertaining people they can also influence the behaviour of people .

First lets take the example of Top Gun . It was movie featuring Tom Cruise as a young air force pilot . It went on to be a major success at the box office . It also became a trend setter . Air Force applications had increased significantly since the release of the movie in that particular year.People loved the young pilot and were inspired by his role to serve the country. This is an example that movies can actually influence people's decision.

Secondly , some documentaries also leave a profound impact on the audience . They make us think twice about our decisions . “An inconvenient Truth ”

- was the documentary made by Al gore , former vice president of the US where he spoke about global warming. It won an Oscar and increased awareness towards climate change of the general public. “Food Inc ” was another documentary on how food is produced. These films made on topics affecting the society

play a significant role in influencing people. They bring us face to face with the bitter truth that corporates try to cover.

Finally , lets take up News channels. They are supposed to show the relevant events and inform the public . Instead we see them spreading agenda for different political parties. Thus we have right wing of the media and the left wing. News channels also tend to sensationalize the event to gain sympathy and increase the TRP or television rating points. If a person is watching the same news about kidnap and murder in city for days , they naturally can feel unsafe living there .Parents may be anxious when children come late and overreact citing examples from the media.Something we all have faced in our life.

Reality television can also influence peoples lives . They give opportunity to the common man to get instant fame . Becoming a reality star is now considered the elevator to success. So people are queuing up at auditions and make putting effort to prepare for such shows. American Idol is one such show.

Thus there are several ways that television and movies influence our lives . Good content is always appreciated .They act as powerful medium to generate awareness and create empathy.From being trend setter to entertainment , social campaign, to sometimes creating irrational fear , television and movies create an impact in our lives in lot of ways .