IELTS Writing Task 2/ IELTS Essay: (I found that topic in my TOEFL iBT preparation book also ! )

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task

It is said that, "Not everything that is learned is contained in books".

Compare and contrast knowledge gained from experience with knowledge gained from books. In your opinion, which source is more important? Why?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words

Everything we learn in a book is a basic knowledge that life presents us someday. What is important to considerate is that we might be confronted to that knowledge in real life and that moment only what we have in mind is the technique, the correct strategy to get through it. In other words, the majority of what we learn is forgot in need, as the experience of how to use a washing machine of instance is relevant rather than what we understand learning the how-to-do booklet. What I mean to say is that books and written knowledge bring us a theory or an ideal way of behaving towards someone but I strongly believe that the real experience solely allows us to progress in life. In the following paragraphs I will explain the three reasons for that I consider that statement.

First we all confirm a major aspect of life: all that happends is not predictable. As I said before the book is the theory. One can learn with particular great focus but might be very much baffled of the actual thing in practical life s/he learnt before. I’m just giving here a simple example: what a freshman used to learn in a chemistry book is not always what happened in his practical! Even a simple reaction may differ from a system to another… what the student learn in a physiology theorical course is a small variety of what is actually in every single human being: there is not a precise threshold of blood pressure normality for instance. To be more explicit, experience is the most important part of the gained knowledge in life because that actually confirms whether we learnt in theory is right or not and therefore, in how much percentage is that theory reliable?

To continue, it is also important to understand that all what they learn in books is a must to start with the basics. Books define things, they give us a sort of preview of what exist (or is conjectured i.e in maths or physics). Moreover, just be aware of that: in that essay, even to explain something considered as a statement I use examples: why? Because I want to be understood in the simplest way from the reader. Here my example can be similar to a practical life gained knowledge. The experience to be confronted to this preview is the same as building a proper new viewpoint based on sensible and considerable observation though. In anatomy for example, a med student learns the common and typical structure of the different organs and the system’s organization and functions which is considerable and clearly different of what a surgeon is experiencing in the operation theater! So here they may be a certain amount of previous observations that inspired the authors to draw and write down what is to be but the truth is that everything is not always achieved in terms of knowledge in books. It is a starter but the following race till the finish line of life is our own experience.

Finally there is a very important aspect to be considerate which is that not everything is learnt or achieved because of books. One child might be very poor and have not enough money to go to school and learn English but that child may learn by listening to people’s conversation, by practicing with tourists… I refer to the movie Slumdog Millionaire where the poor guy learns so much general knowledge even being so much illiterate and considerating that he never has been to school! Another great example is the baby. The little buddy learns to speak in an earlier age but s/he can’t even read! This is achieved by practice. To give a last example, I don’t know Japanese. I can’t read a word but I can speak it quite well because of drama and cartoons I have been watching for years.

Altogether I consider that experience gained knowledge is the most important source of learning. Life is much more like a heartbeat… ups and downs make it adventurous, circumstances may change in seconds so we have to be smart enough to stay on our guards and be prepared to stand against any issue of life. Solutions are not all mentioned in books they rather are found by our own choices, decisions and that make our own experience of life. Lastly it all comes to say practice makes us perfect.