If you could change one important thing about your hometown, what would you change? Use reasons and specific examples to support your answer.

My hometown is Qingtian, a small district in the city of Lishui, China, where traffic accidents are happening every now and then due to lack of regulation. Hence, I would change the traffic system of the town heightening the regulation in order to reduce the occurrences of road tragedies. More traffic lights would be built and more strict punishments would be implanted for those who ignore the rules.

To begin with, there are currently very few traffic lights regulating the crossings, which leave the pedestrians in a relatively inferior position in front of the drivers in terms of decision making -stop or keep on-. We all as walkers have experienced the difficulty of getting to the other side of the street when there are no traffic lights and the drivers are not empathetic. The cars just keep heading without any hesitation of stopping. Thus, crossing the street can become a very time-consuming task and some people in a hurry may risk their life attempting to cross while a car is approaching. For example, when a student is late to school or an employee is late to work, either of them is going to pay less attention to the traffic while running to their destiny, increasing the odds to be crashed. Therefore, installing more traffic lights which make the decision of whether stopping for both drivers and pedestrians will be beneficial to their safety in that now both groups has the same language.

Moreover, it is not enough to only improve the structure if the users keep infringing the norms, then the consequences of such an offense must be intensified. From the fact that accidents happen often, we can deduce that the current traffic code is flawed. And augmenting the fine thresholds is one thing to be done. Drivers who do not wait for the walkers crossing a sidewalk without traffic lights should be fined with a larger amount of money than before. Similarly, pedestrians who cross the street when the traffic lights do not allow them to do so are equally sanctioned. Because nobody like paying for nothing, they are always going to avoid it, which means respecting the norms and as a result, the number of accidents will diminish.

In summary, the one important thing I would change in my hometown is the traffic regulation there inasmuch as it is crucial to lowering accidents. And I just exposed some details regarded with that change; more traffic lights to regulate crossings and harder punishments for offenders which include both drivers and pedestrians.