Imagine that you are preparing for a trip. You plan to be away from your home for a year. In addition to clothing and personal care items, you can take one additional thing. What would you take and why? Use specific reasons and details to support your choice.

It is always observed that there is a lot of excitement when people move out of their homes for careers and education. The enthusiasm to experience a new atmosphere is experienced by many. I feel a similar kind of zeal as I plan to go for a year long trip. I hope that the trip turns out to be a great experience but I also feel sad that I will leave my house for one complete year.

People essentially take clothing and personal care items essentially for such long term trips. Many of the people that leave their houses also take items which are close to their heart along with them. These items can vary for each individual. It can be a gift given by someone special, a favorite book or even a CD full of one's favorite music collection.

However, the item that I will take except from my personal care items will be a photograph of my family. I am sure I am going to miss my family which is of foremost importance in my life. My family is the pillar of my life. Every family member has encouraged me and shaped me for better. All the family members have loved me a lot. Although they have loved and pampered me, they have also corrected and disciplined me to be responsible. In the trip, when I will face challenges and obstacles, this photograph might make me feel stronger as I would remember their support and encouragement.

However exciting the trip to a new place may be, there are times when one misses his/her home. As they say, 'Home is where the heart is.." . I may get the opportunity to taste different variety of food in the new place but there will be times when I will yearn for my home food. My family members have always cared for me and we have had a very friendly atmosphere in our house. While in the trip if I feel homesick, this photograph will assure me that I have people who love me unconditionally and make me feel better.

Apart from the essential items for the trip, I will take something that I treasure. I will take a token of remembrance of people which are of paramount importance in my life.