Independent TOEFL essay TPO 8 Agree or disagree Television advertising directed towards young children aged two to five should not be allowed

It is critically important that we pay attention to what our children are watching. Personally, I believe that filtering content targeted to children is a parents' task, and not a legal matter. I feel this way for two reasons that I will explore in the following paragraphs.

First of all, banning advertisements targeted toward young children, means that another types of advertisement will fill that time. This could bring attention to topics that the family is not yet ready to discuss with their kids. My personal experience is a compelling illustration of this. In Brazil, ads directed to children are banned. Last semester, I had to babysit my little cousin, and as he was watching TV, an ad for a mattress designed for pregnant woman came by. After this, my 5 years old cousin started those well-known questions, as "where babies come from?", and this was a topic that his parents were not ready for bringing up so soon.

Furthermore, TV channels that are not exclusive for kids, but had time slot for cartoons for example, lost revenue as a result from this new law forbidding ads for children. With this, fewer channels now have this dedicated space for a younger audience. For instance, growing up in a not really wealthy family, I did not have cable TV and relied on the Kids show on free channels to have some fun. And now, I know for a fact that the show that I used to watch as a kid, with lots of cartoons, stopped airing, because there is no financial support.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that ads targetting younger audiences should be allowed. This is because without these ads, kids are subjected to adult-related ads, that are not in their interest, and also, because children have less options for consuming content.