It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

Controversy exists over whether students should specialize in one major or have a broad knowledge of many subjects. As far as I am concerned, it is better for people to have knowledge in broad academic majors because not only gives a better perspective but also, assists students to be more successful. In the following paragraphs, I will pinpoint my case.

The first reason worth mentioning is that broad knowledge provides a higher perspective. In recent years, the advancement of technology altered the life of people. One of these changes is the emergence of computers. It does not matter what is majors of students are, it is obligatory to have a basic understanding of working with computers. It presents high-performing applications that solve complex equations in lower time. Therefore, instead of using past methods to solve complicated problems, students can use computers with ease. There is no need for students to waste a lot of their time to solve a difficult problem that is not essential for them. Therefore, it helps students to focus on more important problems. Also, since they have a lot of time, they can come up with different approaches for solving an equation. Hence, students gain a better perspective and idea when they face certain problems in any field and it is obligatory for them to have a general knowledge of computers.

A furthur more subtle point is that having knowledge in different academic subjects helps people to be more successful. Nowadays, majors are very related to each other. Universities around the world do not pay attention to specific degrees anymore. For instance, a student who wants to study a master of civil engineering is not obliged to have a bachelor's degree in it. The reason for it is that, with the development of technology, multi-disciplinary majors are established. One of these majors is the data science program. It has application in majors such as civil engineering, mechanical engineering, electrical engineering, and others. It requires a knowledge of programming and working with data. Therefore, since many companies have technology teams, having broad knowledge is essential to be more successful in your jobs. If a person only specialized in one major, could not progress in his work environment since could not understand how to develop its application.

To make a long story short, based on the aforementioned argument, it is more beneficial for students to acquire broad knowledge due to having a far better understanding and better chance to progress in their future jobs.