It is generally agreed that society benefits from the work of its members. Compare the contributions of artists to society with the contributions of scientists to society. Which type of contribution do you think is valued more by your society? Give specific reasons to support your answer.

Each occupation has its own contributions to the development of society. There are works which serve human’s spirit, while others improve human quality of life. Artists and scientist can be named as two different representatives for the types of work. Personal speaking, I think both of them are vital parts and have equal roles in society for three below reasons: while artists serve human’s spiritual life, scientists serve human’s physical one, and we all need both to fulfill and balanced living.

First of all, artists take care human’s feeling or spirit. Talking about artists, we think about who create beauty: fantastic poems, pictures, songs, performances... Artists use their unlimited imaginations and their incredible passion create pastiches which arouse all human’s sense from visual, hearing to feeling. They message us via every works they made which can touch our hearts and even can strongly influence in our motions. For example, there was an unlucky girl had a tragic accident when she was 4. The accident left her paralyzed from waist down. Her future seemed to be suddenly closed in front of her innocent eyes; she had to depend on a wheelchair for the rest of her life. But, everything changes when her parents took her out for a ballet performance. The white-dressed dancers with graceful movements had inspired her to practice, practice and practice to dance someday. Clearly, the art has great impact in human’s feeling: make us cry, make us laugh, flood in sympathy, then right after that can fly over the moon. In that way, artists have an amazing power to control our feelings, our motions, so that they are important and have huge contributions to our society.

Secondly, scientists also have indispensable role because they benefit human’s desire to understand themselves and their surroundings. For example, humans always want to know how to prolong their living time for ever, or they always have unanswered question like: what exactly where and when human comes from, and is it real about having the life exists in other planets. Scientists are who work tirelessly, even devote their lives in laboratories to answer the unexplained things. They study about lots of fields from mathematics, physics, chemistry, biology, geography, to astronomy… Then they supply us with knowledge and solutions to improve the life better. For instance, the world records many dramatic diseases. Thank for effort of scientists, we have vaccines, or best medicines to save the patients and protect others’ health. Recently, computer scientists also achieve breakthrough in industrial robotics which can assist human in daily activities, working environments, and the emergences such as find the victims in natural disasters. Furthermore, with the development of nanotechnology, microscopic robots can swim through bodily fluids to deliver drugs, check up on arteries, repair damage cells and generally keeping people healthy. After all, it can’t be denied scientists’ great contribution for society’s well-being.

Last but not least, human need both artists and science for balanced life. As I have mentioned, if the artists take care of human’s motions, the scientists find solutions to make our life better. Why both of them are important? Let’s begin with the structure of human’s brain. In generally, we all have two cerebral hemispheres: the left hemisphere is associated with logical thinking, analysis, accuracy while the right one, on the other hand, focus on aesthetics, feeling and creativity. No one totally the left brain person or the right brain person. In natural way, human always have need in both logical analysis and creativity. A computer scientist who often work more than 12 hours per day with algorithms and numbers; it doesn’t mean he is a bored person or an unromantic man. In contrast, he is not only a scientist, but also a guitarist or an amazing artist in cooking. In my opinion, feeling is like our knowledge; they need to be refreshed regularly. That’s why both the artists and the scientists are equally important to people.

In conclusion, because each of us has our own point of view, and each occupations has its own contribution to our society, all comparisons about some particular jobs are unfair. But, with me, artists and scientists both have huge contributions to make the world a better place.