It has been said, “Not everything that is learned is contained in books.” Compare and contrast knowledge gained from experience with knowledge gained from books. In your opinion, which source is more important? Why?

Being smart is not enough to be successful in your career. Even though you graduated with the first class honor, you cannot get the good job without any prior working experiences or extra curriculum activities. However, It doesn’t mean that knowledge gained from the lessons is not necessary. Both academic result and personal experiences are important, but they are different in many aspects. I will elaborate in detail through the following paragraphs.

First of all, knowledge from book is a basement for a further application. Without reading books, you know nothing. Books contain facts, theories and basic knowledge. It is good to start learning from book. For example, I begin learning the principal of marketing from the lecture and textbooks. Therefore, I can understand the lesson clearly and remember all key points from the books. Consequently, I got A which make my transcript more attractive to the human resource team. However, most of thing I have learned from books are about theories. I sincerely admit that I have no idea of how to handle a problem in a real situation.

On the other hand, learning from work would provide practical experiences. Apart from basic knowledge, people have to practice the knowledge they have learned from classes in the real situation. By facing such a real circumstance, people would be more stressful and thoughtful about what are they going to do. For example, I was a market research intern last summer at Younet Media Company. My job is to conduct thorough research about a social listening market in Thailand. I applied the research procedure I had learned from class to the research topic. This makes me understand more about how the solution in the textbook came from. It came from the curiosity of the researcher. I think I understand the lessons deeper than before taking an internship.

In conclusion, both learning resources are essential to achieve your goal. Learning in class would give you strong basic knowledge. Additionally, by practicing and facing real problem would make your more skillful. To sum up, both knowledge are needed to be accomplished by people who want to be successful.