It has recently been announced that a new restaurant may be built in your neighborhood. Do you support or oppose this plan? Why? Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

To develop whatever area, it’s necessary to build roads, buildings such as: hospitals, schools, restaurants… If a new restaurant may be built in my neighborhood, of course, I will support it. I have at least three reasons: it provides utility services for social, boost profits for the area’s economy, and changes its appearance in a modern way.

To begin with, I support the plan to build a new restaurant because it provides utility services for social. According to Maslow’s Hierarchy of Need, physical requirements are the most basic need of human. We all need energy to survive, and the only way to acquire this energy is from consumption and transformation of food. However, living in a busy life, many of us sometimes don’t have enough time to cook for ourselves. For example, after a hard-working day at office, we come home late with physical exhaustion and feel stressed. It’s when a restaurant can help. We can easily call for a cup of tea or something to fuel energy without wasting time to buy stuffs and cook with a hungry stomach. Having a restaurant in neighborhood can benefit us in other aspects like give us a place to hang-out with friends or celebrate parties.

Secondly, a new restaurant is opened will boost profits for the area’s economy. I live in the suburban area of Hanoi, so there are wide fields near my house. In recent year, some of them are bought, and backfilled to build companies, buildings… The phenomenon happens frequently because of effects of countryside’s modernization process. Some people think it causes farmers lose their lands and be out of jobs. But we also have known that, to start a business, the owner need to employ people for different positions. In this case, to open a new restaurant, he will need to hire chefs, waiters, guards, accountants…Therefore, the plan will create more job opportunities for local people. Additionally, the restaurant is not only served people who live around it, but also the visitors. The success of the restaurant will gain much profit to the area where it is located.

Last but not least, the existence of a new restaurant can change the area’s appearance. As I mention before, the new restaurant is build will provide many services for the community around it. Furthermore, when other companies want to start their business in an area, they will consider this point. Opening a supermarket, for instance, certainly no one want to build it in quiet places. People would prefer somewhere near residential areas, and also have developing services. Or, when the new restaurant attract customers, other people will think they can gain much money from start business there. As a result, many other services will be opened near the restaurant. It can change the area’s appearance and make it more develop in a modern way.

In conclusion, I support the plan to build a new restaurant in my neighborhood for all of the reasons I have mentioned. However, the qualification of services, foods, the waste management and methods of waste disposal are also important. Only if the enterprise really care about the customer’s health, and commit to protect the environment, they will receive the support of local people.