It is more important to keep your old friends than to make new friends.

In each stage of our life, we often move around from places to places. We went to elementary school in Medan, went to high school in Palembang, and finally took my undergraduate degree in Taiwan. These experiences taught me to become more adaptive and to keep making new friends in each place. We should keep making new friends and expand our social circle rather than only befriend with people from the past.

We need to expand our networks by making new acquaintances as our life progressed. If we know more people and befriend with them, we can work together with them to solve problems. Most of the professional job today rely on connections to boost our career positively. For example, scientists and professors collaborate with other people from different institutions or disciplines to accelerate their research. In this way, we get two objectives, firstly, we can solve research problems faster and secondly, the resulting works can boost our career. This is true for other professions as well. This is why we need to make new friends.

Making new friends also bring personal satisfaction to our life. New friends give us new colors and perspectives. They also more reliable and helpful when we come into troubles. When our life progressed, we often rare to see our old friends. They may work or live in a different place with us and thus we cannot be in touch with them so often like in the past time. We only see them if we visit them to their places or in reunion events.

In conclusion, making new friends brings more benefits both personally and professionally. They can bring some new views and make a more culturally-rich life. In the same way, new friends also can provide us a path so we can reach our top career in a faster way.