It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

The learning process in school and higher education is extremely important for students’ outcome. Learning facts is one of the approach in the process where students can gain knowledge. However, I personally believe that it is more important for students to learn ideas and concepts so they can have better grasp regarding the fact and master the use of the facts.

If education institutions rely on fact learning as their main approach to students, the students may be able to integrate or differentiate complex functions, size a chemical reactor, and know many other things. However, once you modify the problems, students may find it hard because they usually only can do things that already exampled during their courses. They rely on memorizing the knowledge rather than mastering it. Thus, this will have great impact when the students are going to the society.

After students graduate, ideas and concepts are the things that separate a good graduate and an excellent graduate. For instance, in the case of civil engineering, good graduates may be able to build a bridge that connects certain points. However, they only capable of building existing design bridge with slight modification and additional engineering calculation. On the other hand, excellent graduates, with full understanding of concepts, are able to create new bridge designs that requires critical and creativity thinking to satisfy all the unique requirements. This is a truly essential skill in an increasingly complex world where many engineering problems have its own challenges.

While facts are important, skills and concepts are the key to understand and use the fact itself. Therefore, these two things are the most important thing to learn for students during their formal education period. Concepts and ideas are the key to develop critical and creativity traits, which is important to develop reasoning and solution for real-life problems. Learning facts may be able give high grade for students during school but ideas are the backbone of life learning.