A job should be a job for life. Do you agree or disagree?

One of the most important life decisions of one’s life is finding and choosing a career that suits both your capacities and needs. In particular, when the time to get a job comes, some people argue that a job should mean a job for life, but is that really so? In the following paragraphs I will try to illustrate the positive aspects of both having a job for a life and changing a job every couple of years. Afterwards, I will give my personal opinion on the subject.

The positive aspects of working on the same job for life time are many, one of them is being able to construct your career on the same field. In this case people could begin in the lower position and the climb to the highest as years go by. Another positive aspect could be getting to know your coworkers really well, and creating strong relationships. Also, when working on the same field, if people is good at what they do, they could also get recognized as the best of their area. Furthermore, they would develop a deep knowledge of their job field.

Contrary to the above, by jumping from one job to another every two or three years, people would gain varied experiences in different fields of their careers. They would also get constant stimuli of the novelty, which helps the brain stay fresh and rejuvenated. Finally, if a company should ever shut down, a person having a broader knowledge of different fields would have it easier to find another job than the person who always worked on the same field.

In order to illustrate the positive aspects of having a job for life I’ll give with my father’s example: my father, who works in the insurance field, has had the same job over the last 26 years. He is known for being good at what he does, and people trust him. Furthermore, he is what people would call “an expert on his field” and they would ask for his advice when they need it. Above all, he is happy and comfortable in his job. Contrary to this case I could give the example of my uncle, he is a Systems Engineer. He finds stimulating to learn different things every couple of years and always try to work for the same company or in the same position for no more than two or three years. Even though he does not spend enough time in a company to get promoted, his previous experiences allow him to get high work positions every time he feels the need for a change.

To conclude, I find more amusing the idea of working in different fields over the years. I personally need the thrill of the novelty and get bored by doing the same over a long period of time. I also believe that at the current time, is more important to be able to do many things. Furthermore, nothing is granted, not even the security of a life lasting job. For that reason, I do not believe that only having the experience of one field would be in advantage in case of needing to change a job.