Life today is easier and more comfortable than it was when your grandparents were children

Many people are nostalgic for the way life was lived in the past because they think that in those days life was easier and more comfortable. I, however, believe that life has never been as enjoyable as it is right now. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

​First of all, people today work fewer hours than they did when my grandparents were very young, which increases both their leisure time and their overall happiness. Today, almost all workers enjoy time off on the weekend and, overall, work fewer than thirty-six hours per week. People today have a lot of time away from their worplace, so they are able to pursue whatever hobbies and interests make them happy. I feel that my own family’s history is a good example of this contrast. Many years ago, when my grandparents began their careers, they worked six days and about fifty hours each week. In contrast, I work just five days a week, and a legally-mandated thirty-six hours at most. As a result of my lighter workload I have time for the sorts of hobbies that my grandparents were only able to take up following their retirement. I truly believe that an excess of leisure time is the definition of living an “easy life.”

​Secondly, advanced kitchen appliances are ubiquitous in the modern era, which makes it easier for people to enjoy fulfilling and interesting daily lives. When my grandparents were young, a typical Canadian kitchen was equipped with no more than a simple stove. Today, in contrast, it is typical to find a whole range of appliances, including microwaves, toaster ovens, blenders, mixers and so on. For example, my own kitchen contains all of these tools. I use them to quickly prepare interesting new foods every night using recipes from countries all over the world. I feel that having culinary adventures increases my wellbeing and overall state of mind. My grandparents ate nutrious and delicious food, but its preparation was often quite time-consuming and arduous because they lacked modern appliances.

​In conclusion, I am of the opinion that I enjoy a much more comfortable and easy life than my grandparents did when they were young. This is because I work fewer hours, and because I have access to a range of modern devices which make meal preparation easier than ever before.