Many people believe that the icreased presence of violence in flms and television thesed ays is resposible for the rising incidents of violent crimes among youth in society. They argue that governments have a duty to control the media so as to reduce this phenomenon.

Do you agree with this argument?

In recent years there has been a rise in violence among young population. Many people believe that it can be connected with the increase of aggressive content shown by the mainstream media. Therefore, some argue that the government should take more control over what is shown on TV. In my opinion, the government is responsible for making people safe and should in fact have control over the TV content. I feel this way for three main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

Firstly, it has many times been proven that preventing the damage is much more cost effective than dealing with its effects. Censoring TV programs is less expensive than paying for the hospital bills for consequences of violent acts among young adults. For example, when there is a mass school shooting, victims don’t only suffer from physical consequences, but they also suffer emotionally, for which they need an expensive psychological treatment. Considering what was said before, I think that the government should invest its money in certain measures that forbid or at least censor violent and aggressive content on tv.

Secondly, numerous experiments done by psychologists and sociologists have shown a connection between long-term exposure to violent content and aggressive behavior in the future. In other words, youth that are often spending their time in front of violent news and movies tend to be more aggressive towards their peers. In fact, one study has shown that children that spend more than four hours per week in front of violent content are displaying more aggressive behavior patterns, compared to their peers who only spend less than two hours.

Thirdly, children are the most vulnerable and fragile members of our society and the government has a responsibility to enable them to grow into fully functional and stable adults.

More importantly, children’s brains before reaching adulthood are like a sponge, meaning they will soak all around them and take it as a parameter of their future behavior.

It is important to mention that countries that had censored their TV program have seen a decrease in violent behavior in youth.

It can be concluded that the government should allow censorship over TV programs to prevent violent content being presented, in particular to youth. In my opinion, the reasons why I agree with this statement are: governments’ responsibility for its youth, the benefits of prevention compared to its consequences and finally the numerous experiments showing the positive correlation between aggression in youth and exposure to violence on TV.