Many people say that the Internet is the most important invention ever. Do you agree or disagree with this and if not, what do you believe to be more important? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion

Important Inventions Other than Internet

Some people may say that the Internet is the most important invention ever. This is a statement which I disagree with entirely as I believe there are other inventions that have undeniably impacted humanity over aspects such as technology, health and social development. I can mention three inventions that, I believe, are more important: vaccines electricity and computers.

Vaccines have had a deep impact in both human and animal life as they have helped to eradicate diseases and stop epidemics and pandemics. A couple of centuries ago, epidemics used to kill many people, decreasing the population in many places of the world when they struck; such were the cases of epidemics of the Spanish Flu and the Bubonic Pest. Even a few decades ago, people would suffer from physical life lasting disabilities from Polio.

Another invention that I defend as more important than the invention of the Internet, is the electricity. From the moment humanity managed to control electricity, every aspect of human life has changed: people can work at night as well as during the day; there have been great advances in technology and pretty much everything we use every day of our lives depends on electricity.

The third more important invention -in my humble opinion- than the internet is the computer. With the aid of computers problems can be solved faster than they could before. In fact, I believe humanity would not have been able to go to the moon without the help of computers. Also, kids are taught how to use computers from early age because humanity has become aware that computers will continue to be an essential part of people´s lives.

Measured by the importance of the inventions I have described above, vaccines, electricity and computers are far more important inventions than Internet. In my opinion, they have had and continue to have a greater impact either in the quality and expectancy of life or in the technological and overall development than Internet could ever have.