Many students have to live with roommates while going to school or university. What are some important qualities of a good roommate?

It seems among so many different qualities that a good roommate should have, very difficult to prefer one to another. Some students would like to share their rooms with reliable persons and other people prefer to have kind roommates. From my point of view, a good roommate should be helpful, considerate and responsible. In the following paragraphs, I will try to explain my position more clearly.

First and foremost, a helpful and kind friend can help me cope with various difficulties in the new environment. For example, if I become sick, he will take me to hospital and help me recover. Besides, a good roommate will prepare delicious foods like soup for his patient friend, clean up the room, and wash dirty dishes or other activities. He may have extra information about city, social events and cheap malls so he share this information with his roommates.

In the second place, a good roommate is considerate. He never invites his friend late in the midnight or talk with his cell phone loudly. In addition, a considerate friend never smokes, drinks or other annoying activities in a limited space like dormitory rooms. He knows that his roommates want to study during mid-term or final exams so if he does not want to study, he will not distract them.

Last but not least, a good roommate is responsible. If he has specific responsibilities like cleaning the room, he will do his job perfectly. For example, last year, I wanted to go to my hometown but I could not find any person to take care of my stuff. So that I asked my roommate help me and since he was a responsible person, he took care of my cloths and books very well.

Taking all the aforementioned arguments into account, it can be concluded that there are several important characteristics that a good roommate should have. But I find myself more inclined to choose helpfulness, responsibility and consideration based on the reasons which I outlined above.