People should sometimes do things that they do not enjoy doing.

One of the most common purposes is life is to reach happiness. The vast majority of people think that happiness is about of doing only things beloved, avoiding things they not enjoy doing. Although, this position it is completely understandable, I think that life has bright and shadows and not few times along our life, we must go through dark episodes in pursuing something better. My view is based on the following concepts: Sacrifice, Responsibility and Maturity.

Firstly, we have to understand the value of sacrifice. This concept is fundamental in every stages of our life, and it consist in doing things that will eventually bring a reward, but dislike at the time we are doing it. Moreover, the reward is likely to be for us or for someone else. For example, I hate go to the dentist, but I am willing to do it just because I prefer the reward of not having a tooth pain.

Secondly, and foremost is Responsibility. Although, for many people this word may sound boring, it is a great value to pursue in life, and it has to do, with do what you have to do, no matter whether you enjoy doing it or not. Whatever the profession or activity we work in, having responsibility is one of the key element to succeed. For instance, because I am responsible, the day before a board presentation I usually work until midnight, despite I do not like to do it.

At lastly, a wide concept like Maturity. Many people believes that the life is too short to do activities that they do not enjoy doing it. However, along of our life we should realize that life is compounded by moments, some of them are good while other are not, and, it is important to realize that doing some tasks we do not want to do, can be a sing of maturity. For example, attending to classes after a party, could be a truly sign of maturity.

In summary, sometimes doing activities or things that we do not like doing, can be a huge opportunity to develop personal qualities such as willingness to sacrifice, sense of responsibility and maturity.