People work because they need money to live. What are some other reasons that people work? Discuss one or more of these reasons. Use specific examples and details to support your answer.

Ability to work is inherent to people since the beginning of humankind. Despite being tightly connected with profit throughout most of the history, there is more to work than purely earning money. Some studies have even shown that people would continue to go to work even if they win the lottery. Are you wondering why? In this essay some other benefits of work will be explored and reasons why it is important will be provided.

Firstly, each and everyone’s life has a certain structure necessary to keep life in order. Work is one part of that structure, enabling people to get the same routine day after day, which at the end brings more security. Otherwise they would get bored, depressed and anxious. For instance, studies have shown that employed people have better mental health than the unemployed ones. Since unemployment leads to mental health issues, working will brings more structure and stability to ones life.

In addition, people are social creatures and need company to sustain themselves. Therefore, it is important to interact with others on a daily basis, which is another reason why work is important apart from earning money. In fact, if one does not work for some time it can easily happened that one gets socially isolated. Having interactions is an important part of life as it boosts morale and leads to a more satisfied life. The aforementioned argument is a proof that work is beneficial for maintaining social skills and interactions.

Finally, education is an important part of our life course. We follow educational program for most of our childhood and early adulthood. For that reason it is valuable and important for people to be able to see the practical part of their education - the work part. For example, if a person goes to medical school, the possibility for applying that knowledge in everyday situations is an inevitable part of becoming a professional.Therefore it is important to have a work as a platform for applying new insights and gained knowledge.

To sum up, work is playing a big role in human existence, not only because it allows getting paid, but for many other reasons. Some of them are the following: the routine work brings in everyday life, the possibility of social interaction with others and of course the ability to apply knowledge gained through education. Either way one looks at it, work is a crucial part of our life.