To preserve old historic buildings vs to replace them with new modern buildings

We do not need a time machine to travel back and live in old eras to understand history. We can do that by looking into the present; as history can be explained and interpreted through the present. In my opinion historic and old buildings are one of those mirrors that through looking into it we can see the past. So, it is a government’s obligation to preserve and maintain historic and old buildings by allocating specific budgets for that. I feel this way for a couple of main reasons.

First of all, I see it is a big economical advantage for the cities which have historic and old buildings. Because, such kind of buildings are considered one of the most attractive and interesting elements to tourists. Tourism industry nowadays is an important source of national income to many countries. My own experience is a compelling example of this. For example, Rome, the capital of Italy that I had visited once before, I had found that the amazing old fountains and theaters are surrounded with vast number of visitors and tourists from everywhere in the world. In addition, the hotels located close to them were one hundred percent occupied, and the neighborhood cafes and restaurants were very busy with customers of different cultures and languages. These activities would create thousands of jobs and could profit different kind of businesses. For this, I strongly believe that it is worthwhile to a city to preserve historic and old buildings.

Secondly, replacing historic and old buildings by new tall towers will unfortunately affect on the infrastructure of these cities. Roads, railways, power supply lines, and water and sewer pipe lines have limited capacities which will not proportionate with the vast number of the new comers to live in the new buildings. For instance, in a city like “Alexandria” of Egypt, which used to be a cosmopolitan city with considerable varieties in architectural styles, the local government allowed people to remove the old palaces and villas and build skyscrapers instead. And the end result was catastrophic; traffic is always congested, public sewer pipes are usually clogged, and power supply became a daily suffering. Accordingly, I see that replacing historic old buildings with new modern huge ones will end up with numerous bad effects.

In conclusion, it is very important and I strongly encourage governments to adopt laws to care about historic old buildings and legally prevent replacing them with new modern ones. Not only because of its economic benefits but rather because these cities are not prepared for massive population flood.