Question: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People behave differently when they wear different clothes. Do you agree that different clothes influence the way people behave? Use specific examples to support your answer.

People may behave differently due to various reasons. Clothes that we wear is an important part of our days, at least mornings, when we choose what to wear. Some people believe that wearing different clothes might affect their behavior, however another group believe your personality should not depend on your clothing. I support the idea of behaving differently while wearing different clothes with two major reasons.

First of all, different situations and occasions make us dress differently. People wear formal clothes when they attend formal parties and they try to follow some ethiquettes like being polite and respecting ladies. However, the same group of people behave differently when they casually hang out with their friends. They might use some slang or rude words. I remember when I attended my causin's wedding when I was 9 years old, as a first formal event I had ever attended, I felt so uncomfortable. My mother forced me to use "please" with every sentence which was not very convenient for me, being a spoiled child. On the other hand, my husband have some Mexican friends who are the most down to the earth, and humble people. Whenever we attend any party in their house, we wear literally whatever we like, mainly shorts and T-shirts. They make us feel very welcome and comfortable. We drink beer and talk about any subject. We never have to worry about what we say or how we behave. So, I imagine wearing comfortable clothes make us feel more comfortable and behave more comfortably versus wearing formal clothes and behaving rigidly, like a robot.

Second, some clothes give people better personality. They say wearing nice clothes make other people to respect you in your profession. I remember reading an article on internet about how people may bahave around you just based on the clothes you are wearing. For instance, if lawyers wear shorts and a T-shirts, people respect them as humans but they do not take those lawyers very seriously. I remember when I was 21, I attended an event with my family. One of my cousins who is actually a professor was present in that party but he was wearing a very comfortable outfit and he was behaving very casually. To be honest, he did not look like a professor to me. I actually was not aware that he is a professor in Canada until very recently when I saw him in his sister's Christmas party. Therefore, wearing different clothing might affect how other people perceive and respect you.

To sum it up, I believe clothing affect people's behavior. I think different situations make people act differently. On the other hand, clothes can give us personality, as well. I suggest everyone to watch their behavior when they wear different clothes. It will sound more significant to them how clothing affect their manner.