Should a city try to preserve its old, historic buildings or destroy them and replace them with modern buildings? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

When it comes to the issue the importance the old buildings, some people believe that these structures are history of the city and we should not destroy them. However, others have the opposite view and think that we can replace them with new buildings, which are more beneficial for people. As far as I am concerned the last point carries more weight. I take this position on account for the following reasons.

First and the most important reason is that modern people need new buildings for having continent life. In fact, we should aware of this point we never can live in the past, and sometimes we have to sacrifice some things for gaining better. In this matter, we can destroy the old buildings to make useful structures such as park, Movie Theater, concert halls, which are necessarily in the modern world. Therefore, we have to eliminating old buildings for having comfortable life, because human’s progresses always are associated with removing and creating new thing.

A further point e must consider is that replacing we can expand businesses, which will decrease the rate of unemployment. As we all know, the unemployment is a trouble crisis not only in small town but also in metropolises. Hence, it is quite normal that the local governments tend to perform any plan that could help for solve this problem. The old buildings usually are located in center of cities, where is best places for commercial activities. In this way, it would be a good plan to destroy old buildings and replace them to make new businesses like shopping centers, restaurants, malls. So, new businesses not only ameliorate the unemployment issue, but also assist the local government to have high revenue.

In contrast, let us to take a look on why some people dislike the idea of replacing old buildings with modern structures. These people think that old buildings are an integral part of the city’s history, so we have an obligation to protect them. I admit that it is a moral to preserve them, while preserving and reforming these kinds of building usually impose much money on the local government. In the small town the local government has not enough revenue to allocate a great budget for that. In addition, it the large cities, the lack of land forces us to think about destroying old buildings and use of their lands for other things.

All above evidence supports this undeniable fact that new buildings like university, library, shopping center could make people’s life comfortable and bring more job opportunities. Admittedly, as an English proverb goes “a coin has two sides”; therefore, those who take the opposite view are partly reasonable that old buildings are part of people’s memorial, and people like to preserve them. Nevertheless, I strongly that its benefits of this plan outweigh dangerous.