Should governments make decisions about people's lifestyle, or should people make their own decisions?

The government is the main factor which makes decisions regarding finance, defence, and foreign; it is in charge of its nation and the prosperity of its citizens. Despite these heavy responsibilities, the government should merely interfere into people’s private lives to some extent due to some rational reasons.

To begin with, the government is taking its residents’ freedom away if it decides people’s lifestyle, which leads to severe consequences. To illustrate, Chinese government coerces its people to use the distinct Internet platform called Weibo; therefore, every behavior as well as statement of the citizens is strictly controlled, constraining Chinese people from showing their true self or eventually violating the right of freedom of expression. Consequently, this act of restraint results in some rebellions in the community. Another aspect under government control is religion. There are a myriad of religions and beliefs that exist in a nation, and each religion has its lifestyle distinction, especially in dressing. However, once the government imposes on ascetic people to calibrate their religious beliefs, it may lead to the insecurity among citizens and may disturb the peace of the nation.

Secondly, above everyone else, the citizens themselves know their true potential and learn to enhance them. Although the government can manipulate its citizens, through laws and rules, to create a better society, it cannot dive into the real power or come up with proper solutions to make people truly happy with what they are commissioned to do. A stable society only appears when its residents are satisfied with their lives but no restriction. Therefore, the government should let its citizens figure out the measures for their conundrums with which they are comfortable. For instance, there is encouragement to help poor citizens in quarantine, and my mother registered for a position as she wants to share her privileges with the unprivileged ones. My mother applied into food shopping for the poor; however, an officer gave her a task that was totally unsuited with her capability. As a result, my mother was very angry and she fluctuated about the idea of helping others.

On the other hand, it is allowed for the government to dig into the health care-matter of its citizens. In this day and age, people are so chasing for money that they do not keep an eye on their health. In this situation, the assistance of the government to improve the health status of residents is rational and necessary.

In conclusion, over interference of governments intended for citizens is not acceptable because it violates the Democracy right in every aspect. However, it is indisputable that there are some facets, especially health care, which requires the support from the government.