Should governments spend more money on improving roads and

highways, or should governments spend more money on improving public

transportation (buses, trains, subways)? Why? Use specific reasons and

details to develop your essay.

The importance of transportation became extremely high nowadays. It is hard to imagine how people would live being not able to move from one part of the city to another, from one city to another, from one country to another. Transportation can be divided into two major types: public and private transport. Development of both types requires involvement of governments. To let people use their cars, governments should build new roads, maintain existing ones. To let people use public transportation, governments should invest in the development of new subway lines, buy new buses. Prioritizing, on what to spend money, governments, in my opinion, should give preference to public transportation. I think this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First, taking care of public transportation, governments make life more comfortable for much more people. The number of people, who can be transported by buses, trains and subway, is much greater than the number of people, who can move using their cars. For instance, in Moscow more than two millions people use metro every day, compared to this, the number of people who use their cars on daily basis is 40 times smaller. Even not taking into account those who use buses but don not take metro, we can see that the majority of people use public transportation. Hence, investing in metro and buses, the government satisfies needs of 40 times more people.

Second, as more transport on our streets, as worse the quality of air. If you look around, you will notice that in most of the cars there are maximum three passengers, at the same time one bus transports up to 80 persons. Considering that the negative effect on the air of one bus is equal to that of two cars, we can easily calculate how much more air pollution will be produced by cars, which transport the same number of people as bus does. For instance, last year ecologists calculated that if even 30% of the people who drive start using public transportation, than the level of air pollution in Moscow will decrease on 40%. The report was published in one of the famous newspapers and one of the parties started developing a project, a purpose of which was to increase the number of people, who use public transportation. The project has not been finished yet, but the lot of people already started using metro instead of cars and ecologists confirmed that the quality of air now is better. The example clearly shows that using public transportation, we can decrease a negative impact on out nature.

To sum up, I strongly believe that investing in public transport, such as buses, trains, metro is more important, because doing this governments not only helps the majority of people to live comfortably but also take care of our environment.