In some organizations, promotions are based on seniority, while in other oraganizations, promotions are based on performance

The sentence "In some organizations, promotions are based on seniority, while in other organizations, promotions are based on performance" is a complex and controversial one. I partially agree and partially disagree with this statement. I provide my reasons, evidences in following paragraphs to support my view on this statement.

The organization system holds a complex structure.One can observe the presence of different category of workers at different levels. It must be noted that the size of organization is proportional to number of workers in the organization. Among workers of same genre there will be presence of competition for sure. Out of this competition there will be a dominance of some workers among the group with some special abilities. In order to preserve such workers organization system developed a pattern called "salary hike" or "promotions" whenever there is a profitable transaction from the unit the worker is working. This practice leads to encouragement to worker who received it and works with more confidence which helps the organization cumulatively.

But this system of practice raised a conflict between the management and workers because the cumulative work of senior who worked for more time in the organization and for the organization is more in some case than the worker who is newly arrived and contributed a large part in success. So this conflict can be resolved by the harmony present in among the board members of the organization. They may give importance to the seniority by keeping in mind that foundation of building(senior's work) is more important than decoration(newly arrived person's work) done to building after completion of construction. But this re-energizes the senior to work in more efficient manner in his upgraded post by using all his previous experience.

On the other hand, working smart always pays you wealth and fame in return for sure is the famous principle believed and said or shared by many instructors in this business world,where money and popularity are two important attributes to measure the level of person. So if the board of directors develops this approach of thinking then the newly arrived or junior who worked smart gets beneficial. This helps the individual to work in more smart in order to compete for the next level and to contribute a lot to organization.

More precisely speaking both the approaches has their implicit deficiencies which leads to the failure of the organization. If the senior is honored that contributes for the depression among the new worker's because to achieve a promotion they need to work for long period. On the other hand if newly arrived is honored this may lead to conflicts between senior workers who build the foundation for organization and the organization.

As I have provided irrefutable reasons in context of given sentence, I finally conclude by saying that this sentence is partially agreeable.