Some parents forbid young children from owning smart phones (cell phones with Internet access), while others disagree and believe that they are important tools for keeping in touch. Which point of view do you think is better, and why?

No one would doubt that parents care a lot about their children. In fact, there are many ways to show parents' care. Therefore, when it comes to whether to forbid young children from owning smart phones, people may have different opinions. According to following reasons and some personal experiences, I believe that young children can have their own cell phones.

First, parents care about their children, and parents can keep eyes on their children who own smart phones. My brother, Fred, for example, always makes troubles. He hangs around with gangsters, bullies other children, and even smokes drugs. To make sure Fred not to break the laws, my parents follow Fred’s Facebook, Instagram, and twitter to know where Fred is and what Fred is doing. As a result, my parents always know what happens to Fred, and they can go and catch Fred. On the other hand, if Fred did not have smart phones, my parents cannot understand Fred well. Therefore, to control children’s behavior, children should have their own phones.

Secondly, children may encounter difficulties, and children with smart phones can ask for help immediately. For example, when I was a child, I was timid and forgetful. I forgot my homework or textbooks occasionally. Furthermore, I did not dare to explain to my teachers who were so harsh. As a result, I was punished often. However, if I had smartphones at that time, I could imessage my mother and used icloud to get my homework. Hence, to solve some emergencies, children need smart devices.

Last, but not least, parents and children both emphasize on scores, and using smart phones allows children to study efficiently. Take the recent policy in our city for instance, our city hall encourages elementary school students to have smart phones. The policy not only focuses on the children’s safeties but also aims to help children to study. To be more specific, through smart phones, teachers can remind children to do their homework; furthermore, children can search any information they need promptly. As a consequence, children can have better scores.

Admittedly, young boys and girls may be distracted from cell phones, some it may seem reasonable to forbid young children from owning smart phones. Nevertheless, based on aforementioned analysis, I strongly support the idea that smart phones are necessary for young children.