Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is undeniable that education is a popular topic, which can cause widespread public debate in different aspect because it affects people in their every day’s lives. Depending on personal experience, emotional concern and personality type people differ in their attitude toward this issue. Some people maintain the idea that for a better education parents should offer money for each high score to students. Others, on the other hand, take a radically a different point of view and hold the opinion that offering money is not a good method. In my view, I think offering money can be both positive and negative and in following lines, I will try to elaborate more on this perspective.

The main aspect to point out is that offering money for high scores can motivate students. When students receive gifts or money for their score they naturally want more and more of that gift so they try their best to get even higher score to receive again the money. When I was an English teacher, I had students with ages range from 7 to 12 years old. I used to give money to students with best score. After that, I could see how other students are studding hard to get best score for other exams to reach the money. So, it is apparent that offering money can motivate students to study more.

Furthermore, offering money can show them how important their education is. When parents give a valuable gift like money to students for their score, they imply students that their job is very significant. In this way, the students realize the value of education and it causes them to do better and better.

In contrast, it can make students conditional and money-oriented. Despite all positive consequences of giving money to students, it can cause students to just study for getting money and not for the value of education. In this way if parents do not offer money for a certain exam, students will be reluctant to study. It is obvious that giving money to students abundantly can be an ineffective tool for encouraging them

In sum, based on the arguments explored above, we can reach the conclusion that encouraging students by offering them money for high score can have both positive and negative results. In one hand, it can inspire students and show the significance of education to them. In the other hand, it may causes students to just study for money. Therefore, it is important to use this method of encouraging very cautiously.