Some people say that students should study many lessons during a semester, but others say that it is better for students to just take three or four lessons. Which do you think is better?

Compared to decades ago, more and more people get the opportunities to study in college in recent years. There has been a heated debate about whether students should take as many classes as possible or just focus on only three or four lessons to get the best learning effect. Personally, I concur with the latter one. I believe to take only a number of classes would be a better option.

Take myself for example, I once tried to take as many classes as I can in order to learn more in a semester. However, eight lessons a week was not an easy work. I was burdened with a lot of pressure so as to keep up with every lessons and different kinds of homework and tasks. I had to admit that those days were one of the toughest periods in my life. Though I did manage to pass every course, I still don't have confidence to say that I had understand the whole eight lessons completely and fully.

In addition to the pressure and tiredness, the lack of time to study was a major concerned resulted from the overloaded courses. Another reason I was struggling while taking eight courses at a time is that there was never going to be enough time for me. It took at least all of my daytime and afternoons on weekdays to attend every classes, following by the time to prepare for presentations and additional discussing sessions. There was only limited time for me to really digest the content lectured in classes, not to mentioned the time to rest. Staying up late was common for me at that time.

The last but not the least, the pleasure of studying would be stronger if students only take limited lessons. During my studying progress at that time, I felt like I was always pushed by the heavy-loaded weight of burden. Taking classes was more like a battle than learning. I was battling with time, my body and my will every single day. When I finally reached to the end of the semester, nothing but a huge relief could describe that lifted moment. It was like I eventually struggled through a tough trial and all I need was a long break.

In a nutshell, I think there are reasons to believe that taking only three or four lessons at a time is better since there will be more time and pleasure for students to study and there are better chances for them to acquire knowledge more completely.