Some people suggest that it is wrong to give money to beggars asking for money on the street, while others think that it is the right thing to do. Which point of view do you think is correct, and why?

Nowadays, the gap of economic inequality is getting higher than before as can be seen from the increasing Gini ratio. We can see in several elite places such as Grand Indonesia and Plaza Indonesia complex, people buy expensive branded things while, on the other hand, some people outside the complex just beg and ask for money. There have been many debates on giving money to beggars is the right thing to do or not.

When we ask the question "does give our money to beggars really substantially help them or not?" the answer depends on where do we want to see the problem, locally or globally.

Everyone's opinions can be different regarding this matter. However, I tend to look at this problem from the big picture and I feel give beggars money is not the right thing to do. Some people might say to put yourself in their shoes. While giving money might help the beggars to some extent, it is not a sustainable effort to solve poverty.

We need to find a sustainable and continuous way to help them. Instead of giving them money, we can give them practical training and short courses and help them to find jobs tailored to their training. For example, we can teach them how to knit and use a knitting machine in order to find jobs in the clothing manufacturer. In this way, they can earn income which is more substantially improve their lives in comparison with 'working' on the streets. Programs like this have been done by several non-profit organizations. What's more important, these organizations provide opportunities for us to become volunteers to help these people. If we have expertise or practical training experience, we can contribute to providing training and help them to find a job.

This kind of program will help people on the street in the long run. By giving them money might make them eat for a day. However, education and skill can give them a better life. Furthermore, this also creates a chain of communities where they can help each other and teach each other. The society is getting more complexed these days and giving beggars money is not going to help them anything but more problems.