Some people think that giving students time during a class to discuss ideas with each other is a good way to help students learn; others think giving students time for discussion is ineffective or a waste of time. Which idea do you agree.

As a matter of fact, teachers have always been worry about their classes. One of the most concerns in teacher's mind is about some discussions in their classes. Teachers who are responsible about students and classes have different opinions about managing a class. Some of them think that having some conversations during a class is a good way to teach students easier and some of them believe otherwise. In my view, I strongly believe that having some conversations during a class is a good way to teach students how they should communicate with each other. Also, there are more advantages such as having fun or understanding opposite ideas better.

First and foremost, having some debates or conversations during a class is a good way for children to learn how to communicate with other people in the society. Students will learn to hear other people's opinions and tell their ideas about any topic. Some students are shy, so these kinds of practice will help them to talk to other people and explain their reasons to support their ideas.

Second, children in school-age will learn to respect for other opinions. As everybody knows, each person has a separate idea, so people should learn to hear other opinions. Although hearing oppose thoughts is not easy, it can help students to be mature. Additionally, students will learn more. For example when a teacher suggest students to discuss about a topic, they will hear other opinions and sometimes they will find out that their thoughts are not correct, because of other student's points.

Last but not least, it is fun. Most classes are serious and students do not like that serious classes. Having a short discussion will help students to have fun and enjoy the class. For instance, I used to be in a high school back in my home country Iran, I had a nice teacher who was really creative. She was asking students to be in some groups and teach us by games. I can say that she did a great job in her course, because students had fun during her class and they tried to be as good as they can in their course.

To sum up, having discussion is not only a way to learn better, but also is a way to learn other skills like communications.