Some people think that the main purpose of schools is to teach children to become good citizens and workers, rather than benefiting them as individuals. Agree/ Disagree?

There is a bone of contention for this prompt, some believe that it is crucial to foster good morals and ethics in individuals, while other greedy people think that it is imperative to work of themselves. In my opinion, it is indeed necessary to make good citizens and workers for the following reasons:

To begin with, in today’s materialistic and complex world, people care least about ethics and run behind wealth. In fact, many people adopt anti-social strategies to accumulate fortune. In order to avoid this, it is prudent for school to teach difference between right and wrong pathways. Moreover, children who learn these qualities at early developing age, can certainly create camaraderie at work place in future and involve in altruistic activities. For instance, when teacher teaches stories and histories of great leaders and benevolent people such as Gandhiji and Mother Teresa, students might learn that consequences of good deeds are positive and indelible. Their contribution to save mankind from slavery and helping poor and people in times of calamities is irreplaceable . As a result, progression of a country in economic and social perspective lies in the hands of the future offspring.

However, it is indeed true that to be successful in this competitive and interrelated world it is important to think for us. For instance, if schools only concentrates for high level philosophical theories to grow inner mind and peace, students might consider this as boring. Moreover, they need interesting topics to bind their attention. Therefore, it is crucial to teach methods for benefitting them as individuals such as unique skill or trait. Computer skill serves a compelling example, being software-programming expert a person can be reputed worker and maintain work atmosphere by his decent qualities. Thus, teaching both in equal proportion is conducive for prosperity of a country as well as for individual.

To sum up, it is imperative to inculcate moral values and ethics to be better citizen and help others in time of emergency. In addition, attending school

Can bring tremendous benefits for personal development required for ganing highly reputed employment option.