Some students prefer to have their final grades determined by numerous small assignments,

whereas others prefer to have their grades determined by only a few large ones. Which one do

you prefer and why?

As a matter of fact, each student need to get a good grade to be satisfied. Some students prefer to pass a course in one step. On the other hand, a big group of students prefer to pass a course step by step. In my view, I strongly believe that many small quizzes will be a good way to know a student's ability because of couple of reasons such as making lower stress, removing bad chances etc.

First and foremost, in each exam, a student might be in a bad situation. For example, when I was in high school back in my home country Iran, I used to have a friend who was so smart. In the exam day she got sick and she lost most of her grade in that course, because in our school we had one time exams. In another word, there is a possibility for good students to be sick or something like that in exam day, so having numerous assignments will help them to save the rest of grade.

Second, couple part exams will help students to be more relax. One day exam like Toefl exam has a lot of stress, because each person knows that his/her goal is depends on it, but the positive point about Toefl exam is that there is some backup plans for a student who failed in an exam. For instance, he/she can repeat the exam two weeks later. Obviously, for most exams in a school there is not another chance like this especially in some countries like Iran.

Last but not least, these kinds of step by step assignments will help hard work students to be successful. As everybody knows, most of lazy students prefer to study in last minutes. They are really good at manage critical situations. These lazy students do not pay attention to a course during a term, but they want to get a good grade in school, so they usually use their short time memory to record everything in last minutes. Undoubtedly, they will forget all of these information really quick. When a teacher decide to ask their students to assign some homework during semester, good students will be happy and that is a way to encourage them.

To sum up, although some students prefer to have a one day exam, most valuable students want small exams during each semester.