Some students prefer to study alone. Others prefer to study with a group of students. Which do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

From the ancient time, people gathered in groups for many reasons, such as in order to defeat enemies or to hunt a large game. Nowadays, people do not have to hunt in order to survive. However, they still assemble to support each other in a variety of aspects of life, including education. Personally, for me, it is better to study with a group than to study alone. There are a few reasons for that.

First of all, in a group, a student can get help from others. All people are different. We all like doing different things, such as to listen to different music and to read a different kind of books. The same way, people use different techniques to study. Indeed, in a group students can share their experience and probably can help each other to find a way to study more effectively. For instance, when I was preparing for TOEFL test, I was a member of a few TOEFL societies on Facebook. I constantly interacted with other students who were seeking to pass the test and already had an experience in taking TOEFL. I have learned from them about how to build vocabulary faster and how to organize independent written task. If I had not joined the groups, I would probably have spent a way more time on the preparation for the test since this way, I had to look for the tips in other sources. To that end, in a group students can give each other valuable advice, based on their own experience.

Secondly, in groups, quite often, cold competition between students takes place and pushes them to study harder. People are very competitive creatures. Indeed, everyone wants to be a champion, and this is actually for the best. When people compete to each other, they work harder in order to defeat the opponent. So, when a student sees that other pupils are more knowledgeable, he/she tends to learn more and more because he/she does not want to be the worst student. As I said above I was getting reading for TOEFL with the groups of students on Facebook. When I was reading other students essays and saw that someone had more advanced vocabulary than I do, I felt jealous. I started searching for the meanings of the unfamiliar words and tried to memorize them. I did my best to eliminate the gap in my knowledge. Although some people don’t really care if someone is more intelligent than they are, I like to be proud ( but not to be ashamed) of the level of my knowledge. Therefore, when in a group, I study with the larger effort than when I study on my own.

To conclude, I prefer group studies than personal ones. This is because in a group students support each other and can get encouraged by others to study more actively. Overall, in a group, students have great chances to increase their academic performance.