Some university professors let their students choose their research topics themselves. Some do not. Which one do you think is better? Why?

Since entering university, Students’ mind has been occupied with how they choose an appropriate research title during the study period. In this regard there is a fierce controversy as to whether professors should let students pick their research topics or not. Some have good reasons to opt for the first point of view of this heated discussion, and an equal number of reasons to choose the second standpoint. As far as I am concerned the privileges of selecting a research subject by professor of university substantially outweigh those of the other side of coin. There are manifold reasons for this claim, among which experience of professors as well as need of science world are the most significant ones which are mentioned hereunder.

One rationale to endorse my point of view is that professors knows the strengths as well as the abilities of student better, and they fully recognize what the student could achieve or not. To clarify, the student might make a wishful decision concerning picking a research topic, so then who will take the responsibility of such a sightless choice? In addition, a professor is utterly aware of his own knowledge and strengths. The professor cannot take the risk of a subject which is completely out of his circle of knowledge, inasmuch as it is the matter of his academic validity within science societies. In contrast, it should be noted that students are scientifically naïve, and they are usually blind towards topics. It may be true that professors should respect the student’s interests in regard to doing research, but this could cause irrecoverable consequences that nobody can deny them.

The second striking point which is remarkably worthy of being highlighted here is the requirements of today’s science world. It is very pivotal that the subject of a scientific survey should be picked in a proper direction; that is, it must not be repetitive or a duplication of works of other scientists. A case in point is when the student selects an old as well as saturated subject to do. In this case, there is no opportunity for neither professor nor student to develop such kind of topic. Besides, not only should a research title not be saturated, but also should have a bright future for next progressions. Apart from a few exceptions regarding choosing the topic by students which have led to astounding and brilliant outcomes, there is no evidence in favor of this matter.

In summary, with all this taken into account, I believe that picking the topic of a research at universities and colleges by professors rather than students is more reasonable on the grounds that professor have a great number of experiences in selecting topic of surveys, and he can thoroughly consider the needs of science world.