Some young adults want independence from their parents as soon as possible. Other young adults prefer to live with their families for a longer time. Which of these situations do you think is better? Use specific reasons and exam­ples to support your opinion. Be sure to use your own words. Do not use memorized examples.

Many people believe that young adults should be given independence from their parents. They cite the ability to learn maturity and think prudently. However, in my opinion, teenagers should not be given complete independence from their parents until they have settled. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, young adults should not be given complete independence from their parents because they might underestimate the amount of work that they will have to do to live without their parents. This further creates problems when they move out of the house. For example, my older brother has lived with us till the time he was in high school but when he started to go to college he moved out of the house as his college was very far from our house. So, it will be quite stressful to travel from our home. He said that he had a very difficult time to adjust than what he had imagined. In addition, he was not fond of doing house chores before he moved out so, it was very hectic for him to stay away from the home. He took the workload of his mother, who is a working housewife, for granted. Thus, it is very common in young adults to think that they are capable enough to live without their parents but in reality, it is misleading.

Second of all, I believe that young adults should not be given independence from their parents because they might adopt ill habits. My older brother is also a perfect example of this point. For instance, he abstained from ingesting any kind of drinks and hated those from smoke, but after living a year in his house without parents, led him to start doing things which he used to refrain earlier. He was so indulged in drinking that he used to bunk many of his classes in colleges just to go out with his gang to party. Moreover, it also important to be in a good and productive circle of friends and colleagues as they might persuade you to try things which are you should not do. In addition, it is also true that teenagers are not wise enough to differentiate between right and wrong. Which is why they may change their mind when they do not have someone to look after them or their decisions.

In conclusion, I feel that young adults should not exercise independence until they are above 22 years old. Because they think that they are ready to live without their parents and it is easy to fall prey to bad influences as they do not have their parents to look out.