Some young adults want independence from their parents as soon as possible. Other young adults prefer to live with their families for a longer time. Which of these situations do you think is better? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Upon embarking on adulthood, many young people are eager to become detached from their parents and live independently. But many would argue this rising tendency, advising the young adults to live with their families for a span of time while they gather the assets that would help them through life, for example an academic degree and a sustainable job. In this regard, the question of what is the best time to live independently for young adults rises a dispute. Although I have many ambivalent thoughts in this concern, I mostly believe youngsters should thrive for independence as soon as it is possible for them. I will briefly elaborate some of my viewpoints concerning this critical topic.

Two major factors that should be concerned in this manner are cultural requisites and personal competence. In many countries, my own country being an example, it is not customary for youngsters to live independently and away from their parents before they are married. In the western countries on the contrary, I believe the exact opposite is more prevalent, meaning that most people move out of their childhood houses upon turning to the appropriate age. So, a significant aspect that should be comprehended upon making the decision to live independently is that is this decision in tune with the prevailing culture of the country we currently inhabit. I would highly disapprove of those who would attempt to go in the different direction of the dominant cultural mores, as it might give rise to contention and misunderstanding.

Another key factor when making this vital decision is how ready the young adult eager to be live independently is. If a youngster is just entering university, without a steady job, is it a good decision for him/her to live independently? I believe living apart from parents at a state in which the child is not completely competent to take on the full content of an independent life can have many detrimental impacts for the young adult. At this stage, the youngster is more prone to making crucially erroneous decision that could have adverse impacts on the future. By and large, I believe adults should not be too hasty to set free from their parents. They should wait for a time when they are capable of pursuing an independent life.

All aforementioned statements apart, I believe independence is very critical for people. If youngsters stay under their parents’ supervision for too long a period of time, they might lose the motivation that would thrive them for an independent life and become lazy. I believe this state of life could also give rise to many disputes between children and parents. This is mainly because the children are at an age in which they want to experience life themselves and make their critical decisions on their own, but parents might intervene in their private life, giving rise to a contentious state. To restate, although I believe children should not be too hasty to live independently, living for a prolonged course of time under the roof of their parents could also have adverse impacts. It could result in lost motivation, mounted laziness and perpetual disputes between parents and their loved ones.

To sum up, independence is a major issue young adults contemplate as they thrive through adulthood. Many factors should be taken under account by blossoming adults when making the decision to live apart from their parents, personal competence being one of the greatest. Nevertheless, children should definitely be encouraged to lead an independent life as soon as possible and parents should thrive to provide the means for them, since a dependent lifestyle is never the key to a prosperous future.