Students at universities often have a choice of places to live. They may choose to live in universities dormitories or they may choose to live in apartments in community. Compare the advantages of living in university housing with the advantages of living in an apartment in the community.

These days, most men and women would like to go to college or university and they have to choose a place to live. While some students prefer to stay in dormitories and have very convincing reasons for what they do, other students rent an apartment in community. From my point of view, each option has its own advantages and disadvantages. In the following paragraphs, I will try to explain my position more clearly.

First of all, people who live in dormitories have to share their rooms with other students. Sometimes, they are their classmates so they can do their assignments together and benefit from their knowledge. They usually have same interests or concerns and can discuss about various issues without any conflict. In addition, living in dormitories helps them save money because dorm rooms are cheaper than apartments in community. However, there are some disadvantages like less personal freedom. For example, some students cannot study at midnight but their roommates have part-time jobs and the only available time for them to study is midnight.

Secondly, people who live in off-campus apartments have to take bus or taxi to arrive at university but they have more personal freedom. They can prepare their favorite meals, study and sleep whenever they want. Furthermore, they will participate in social events like concerts or exhibitions because they have better access to them and live in community.

Last but not least, living in off-campus apartments makes students independent. They have to arrange their time for cooking, buying ingredients and washing clothes because they cannot use various facilities that are available in dormitories.

Taking all the aforementioned arguments into account, it can be concluded that living in a dorm room has some benefits like low expenses and getting in touch with classmates. On the other hand, living in the apartment in community has some advantages such as more personal freedom and experiencing various events.