Students of a university have a long break between university semesters; the university requires all students to do one of the following for one month during the break:

1-students must take a course on the subjects that has no direct connection to their majors of study ( for example, a student majoring in engineering may take course in fine arts or social science)

2- Students must volunteer to work in the university’s city or their hometowns to improve some aspects of life of the city or their own town( for example, student may help local primary school children with their homework

Which one do you think in more beneficial for students in their university? Why?

Opinions are divided on what to do during one month break; whether to take course which has no direct connection to their majors of study, or to work as a volunteer. Personally speaking, it is my firm conviction that working as volunteer would be much more beneficial while a substantial number of students will take issue with this view. I will elaborate upon momentous reasons in the following paragraphs.

First, should students work as a volunteer to improve some aspects of life, they would gather some experiences. It is a common knowledge that the more work we do, the more knowledge we acquire. Even though students would not make money by working as volunteer, but they would be addicted to working as a team. Besides, it would be useful to master new skill. To pave the way for this example, I would like to give an example of my own experiences. Several years ago, during summer break, I joined an organization aimed to help poor children by helping them with their school courses. During this time I gather lots of experience. As an instance, I learned that whenever I work in a group, the majority’s opinion should take priority over my own need and belief. In a word, having worked as a volunteer, I learned an important lesson which was helpful for my future job.

Second, students can take a break between difficult courses which they take in the university if they work as a volunteer. I honestly think helping to improve society is so exciting experiences for students who have to just attend classes, study, and take exams during their education. In contrast, I take the view that taking course during break is a daunting task even if it would be a new course. To exemplify, as I mentioned before, I worked as a volunteer to help my society several years ago, apart from experiences which I acquired, I really could start the new semester after the break much more energetic, inasmuch as working as a volunteer was a delightful experiences. Whenever I saw I helped, my enthusiastic for doing my best increased. Hence, working as a volunteer would increase students’ energy.

In the final analysis, according to above-mentioned points and examples, I subscribe to the opinion that I were forced to choose one of the above choices to fill my break, I should definitely choose working as a volunteer since it would increase my experiences and also my energy.