Successful people try new things and take risks rather than only doing what they know how to do well

Within the recent years, our society has witnessed and experienced radical changes in each and every aspect of our lives. Nevertheless, the controversy over whether or not successful people try new things than only doing what they know how to do well, still remains debated. Personally however, I believe that people who have achieved in life, mainly focus on what they are good at. I feel this way mainly because of two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

In the first place, it is an undeniable fact that modern society is becoming more and more competitive as time passes by. Consequently, people nowadays, are required to equip themselves with in-depth and professional knowledge in order to succeed. My own experience is a compelling example of this. After I graduated from university, I took some additional marketing courses to acquire more detailed information about this area of study. This enabled me not only to get a high position in a renowned company from the first day at work, but it also allowed me to get promoted more rapidly than those employees that had a broader experience. In other words, successful people are conscious about the fact that only professional knowledge and experiences can lead you to further success. Thus, they do not waste their time on taking risks by trying things and instead concentrate only on what they do well.

In the second place, it is my point of view that taking risks does not always guarantee people the chance to succeed. Instead, it can result only in a waste of enormous effort and time that a person has invested on a new thing. To illustrate this point, I will give my friend as an example. My friend Maya, has been exploring new adventures and possibilities in the international market since 2005. To be more precise, she has owned a coffee shop, a restaurant, a shopping mall, and a pet store. However, none of them have resulted in an achivement, and consequently, she is now experiencing severe financial difficulties. Had she only concentrated in one business, she would have probably been able to succeed and get high revenues each year. Stated differently, trying new things could have negative influences on a person.

To conclude, although it is true that taking risks and acquiring broad experiences can be beneficial for one's daily life, I believe that successful people focus on doing the activities that they excel at. Therefore, based on the arguments presented above, I definitely disagree with the statement that successful people try new things and take risks rather than doing what they know how to do well.