There are many news stories about current event that helps people take a

break from reading or listening to the news for a few days or weeks. Do you

agree or disagree with the following statement, it is beneficial to stop reading

and listening to the news for a few days or weeks.

When it comes to news stories, there are different kinds of new stories. Nowadays, people are able to escape from stressed pressure by reading or listening to the news.

However, whether to stop reading and listening to the news for a few days or weeks can benefit human beings or not would be an argument. In my opinion, I disagree with the statement. The reasons for my taking this position are as follows.

To begin with, in modern society, people should catch up with the trends to maintain the relationship between friends or colleges. In other words, news stories can become a topic for people's chatting in our daily life. Therefore, stopping getting news for a few days may not benefit our daily life. For example, one of my colleges, Jerry, is an out-going person. He can always have a joyful conversation with others. Once a day, there were final baseball games in Major League Baseball. Even though he did not watch baseball games every day, he could still watch the highlight moments from the news stories. The next day, he could share his aspects of the highlighted moments with his friends. That was a good way to maintain a relationship between friends. Thus, I think stopping watching or listening to news could not benefit us.

Second of all, the news stories can help people to come up with novel ideas because there are a lot of events that they do not truly notice. For instance, the founder of Uber, Travis, noticed the potential market in car-sharing

because there were news stories indicating that cars are idled or not used most of the time. He started to come up with a scheme for people who were willing to give a ride for others during the way to work. Now, Uber becomes the most popular platform for carpooling and gain a significant profit for it. Hence, the pause of reading or watching the news would not refresh ones' ideas.

Furthermore, there is special instruction broadcasted by news under certain emergency circumstances. To be more specific, when people face a large-scaled emergency accident, they would have no idea how to deal with it. Under the situation, helpful instruction would be broadcasted by news stories. For instance, currently, the situation of the global pandemic is quite serious all over the world. The governments are trying to stop the virus spreading. Thus,

they would announce the health instruction like the places where there are a lot of confirmed cases. The instruction will be changed or altered based on the circumstance every day. Therefore, consistently receiving news can be beneficial for people to prevent severe virus infection.

To sum up, we need to receive news stories every day to follow up on new information regarding of trends, marketing, or even health instruction. The aforementioned examples can present the benefit of consistently receiving the news. Under no circumstances, can we exaggerate the importance of news stories. Therefore, I disagree with the statement.