TOEFL Independent Writing Question: Some young adults want independence from their parents as soon as possible.

In some cultures children leave their parents’ home once they reach 18 years age, in others children live with their parents their entire life. A preference for one or another option depends on different factors, such as culture itself, economy, the ability of children and parents to earn money etc. Not taking into account the exceptional situations, when children have to live with their parents, I think, it is better for young adults to be independent from their parents. I have this opinion for several reasons.

First, as soon as a young person starts living independently from his or her parents, this person becomes a grown up adult, who can control his or her life. The young people who move out from their parents’ house, start facing the real life problems and they have to learn how to overcome those problems. Once they learn how to control their own life, they are considered drown up adults and they can have their own family, because they already learned how to take care of themselves and now they can take care of other people. My brother is a good example. When he was living with our parents, he did not know how to cook, how to wash his cloths, he did not care about food in the fridge, and he did not worry about the bills. He did not do all of this because he knew that mom and dad would take care of the routine. Once he moved out he realized that he needs to buy food and cook, otherwise he would remain hungry, he realized that he needs to spend part of his salary on the bills, he learned how to clean his place. In four months after moving out from parents’ house, my brother grew up and changed a lot, he became a man, who can take care not only of himself but also of other family members. This example shows how a boy became a mature man after he started an independent life.

Second, leaving with parents makes impossible to have your own family, because there is no enough space to live for so many people. For example, my friend Tom, who is 32 years old, had been leaving with his parents for many years when he met his girlfriend Anna. In a year after they met, they started thinking about marriage, but Tom did not have money to buy his own place, so he suggested to live with his parents. They started living all together and their life became insane, because nobody could have his or her private place, the old and the new family had a lot of arguments. Finally Tom and Anna decided to rent their own place and move out. This decision saved their relationship and relationship with Tom's family. This example shows that young adults should live apart from their parents.

To sum up, as earlier young people become independent, as sooner they will adapt to real life and become mature people. People, who live with their families their entire life, remain kids got a longer period.