TPO-01 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.Use specific reaso

There is not shortage of debate about whether people should sometimes lie in order to maintain relationships with the others. In my opinion, always being honest is still a better option in terms of building healthy relationships. I feel this ways for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, when people tell lies, the consequences of being found out by the others are even worse than telling the harsh truths in the first place. If a person lies to the others, and these people trust wholeheartedly what he says, he will have to lie another time to cover up for the first lie so as not to disappoint them. As a result the lies will keep piling up, to the point where he can not hide anymore. Eventually, the others will know that they have been lied to and their relationships are not only hurt, but ruined totally. My experience is a compelling example of this. Last month, one of my friends asked me if I thought his singing was good. In order not to hurt his feelings, I told him that he had a nice voice, and he truly believed that he did. Then, every time he sang, I praised him a lot so that he would not be disappointed, and he was even more certain that his singing was actually great. One time he went to a karaoke bar with his friends, they told him that his voice was terrible, and he was so hurt that he stayed silent all that time. After that, our friendship ended because he thought that I told lies because I enjoyed seeing him embarass himself, and no excuses can compensate for thing I did to him. These lies, which I told for good intentions, ruined our relationships in the worst way possible.

Secondly, telling the truth politely gives people opportunities to reflect on their shortcomings and find ways to improve them. When told the unpleasant truths, people may feel embarassed just for some time, but they will soon realize that these truths are the honest feedback of the others and that they can progress a lot from such feedback. The sooner people understand that the reality is harsh, the easier it will be for them to face it in the future. For instance, my brother once asked me what I thought of his body. I honestly told him that he was fat, and he was unhappy after I said so. But later, by becoming brave enough to acknowledge the harsh truth that he was not fit, he started to feel motivated to change himself. If I had not told him the truth, he would have not been able to do such a thing.

In conclusion, I believe that people should always tell the truth in order to make their relationships with the others strong. This is because the results of lying are detrimental and telling the truth can help people directly face their shortcomings and improve them.