TPO-03 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I think , friendship is a matter of time , its vacillate with time & status . so ,i am disagreeing with that statement that state about old friendship keeping carefully than making new friend . According to an Internet survey, almost 70% of people think that it is more important to keep old friends than it is to make new friends. I totally disagree with this idea. In my view, the importance of keeping old friends is equal to the importance of making new friends. I have several reasons for this opinion.

The importance of old friends in reducing stress cannot be exaggerated. Older friends have longer relationships with us; therefore, they know us better than new friends. When we encounter obstacles, it is our long-term friends—our old friends—who give us the best suggestions and help us get through our problems. Our new friends sometimes cannot give adequate advice to us because they do not know our situations well enough. We need time to get to know our friends. Last week, I faced the dilemma of whether to accept a promising job offer that would take me to another city. All of my new friends in my current company encouraged me to take the offer because they thought the job had strong future prospects. However, one of my older friends discouraged me from accepting it, as he knew that my mother’s health condition was poor and that she needed someone to take care of her. I think his suggestion was the best suited to me.

In other situations, old friends simply cannot help, and we need new friends to lend a hand. New friends can mean a lot in emergencies. In an accident, for instance, an old friend who is far away from you cannot offer any help. In such situations, new friends often play a crucial role in helping us overcome difficulties. After my cousin was in a car accident, his friends at his new company gave him a lot of help. Without the help of his new friends, I doubt that he would have recovered as well as he did.

I often wonder why some people emphasize the importance of having one kind friend, especially an old friend. Maybe these people are satisfied with the idea that old friends are more important. Ultimately, I think we should develop all kinds of friendships in order to assure that we can get help whenever we have trouble.