TPO 04_ Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, exceeding number of cars have resulted in a variety of problems ranging from environmental problems such as increased air pollution to problems concerning busy lifestyle that people have today, like heavy traffic. It is inevitable that effective solutions need to be devised to address these problems. However, I don't believe that the optimal solution would the reduction in the number of cars.

To begin with, people today are busier than any other era in the history, and in twenty years, they will become even more busy. The impact of working on people to earn more money is evident for now there is no other way to achieve a prosperous life. As a result, there are strict competitions between employees to get promoted and earn more. More time is equal to more money; People definitely need cars to get to work sooner and save more time.

Health, also, is, if not more, as worthy as money. Since using cars are by no means avoidable, I believe the most efficient way to solve heath problems attributed to air pollution is to design car engines that are more environmentally friendly. For instance, toxic fuels used today can be replaced by less harmful fuels to abate air pollution.

On the other hand, some people may think that advancements in public transportation such as more efficient subway systems can lead to a decrease in the number of cars. However, I don't subscribe to this view, inasmuch as it seems really far fetched to achieve this in twenty years.

To sum up, despite the strong desire to have fresh air and efficient means of fast transportations simultaneously, I don't believe the number of cars would decrease in twenty years.