TPO-05 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment-doing things they like to do-rather than doing things they should do.Use specific reasons and examples to suppo

In ancient Greek, a working day only demanded half of the day and the rest of it should be spent on enjoyment and relaxed time to achieve a healthy life. On the contrary, it is seem that modern times go to the opposite direction. Far away from having more time of enjoyment, we are forced to work longer hours and be able to pay our bills or reach the social status desired. Saying that, I disagree with the statement above proposed. In my own experience, working hard and spending less time for personal enjoyment is the normal thing to do to support my family and reach a decent level of living.

Fist of all, the reality of our actual society demands extraordinary expenses for a middle class family group. The provider of a family finds himself or herself doing extra hours work to be able to pay all of his/her bills. Furthermore, when the working day in an office is done at the end of the day, a lot of women have to take care of the family at home, cleaning, cooking, and laundry, so very few free time can result from that agenda. In addition, I can illustrate this idea with my own experience as a single mother. I work all the weekdays with long hours, and during the weekends, I have to do all the chores a house demands. Thus, I have very few time to relax and spend time with my children as I would like.

Secondly, not only adult's life demand so many hours of working, but younger people also have to face a challenge about their own free time. The pressure younger people have looking to get a better job, push them to persue a college and a university career. Correspondingly, young people have a great demand of hours of classes, study, and traning.

Finally, I have to remark that we live in a consumed society and enjoyment activities are also part of the market. As a result, they can be expenses too. For instance, running can be a free activity if you like to do it in a public park, but to do it properly, you have to have to buy running shoes to avoid hurt yourself. The cost of running shoes are increasing because of the demand and so on. To put it another way, free time can be very expensive, too.

In summary, I have to say that modern life is more complex and demanded than used to be. Sacrificing relaxing time for working or studying hours seems to be the new reality. In consequese I disagree with the statement above proposed.