TPO-08 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There are certain considerations or factors that everyone can take into account to investigate and examine the impact of advertisements on young children. I certainly agree that television advertising directed toward children should be forbidden. Someone can consciously weigh the pros and cons of each side. The explanations go as follows.

Firstly, it can bring children's attention away from other positive activities. All parents perfectly understand that the ages of two to five are very crucial for children to grasp and extend their ability. In fact, the experiences and skills that children would learn in these years can aid and abet to be prosperous in their future life and career like a chain or domino. For instance, this age offers the best opportunity for children to learn a second language or shape their personality. So any time and energy wasting by television advertising can delay or jeopardize children’s success.

Furthermore, avoiding from physical and psychological difficulties is another noticeable reason. Most of the advertisers now use an excellent visual and audio effect to offer persuasive programs, and so attract children to purchase their products. Based on a research, which has been carried out by Society Department of Utah University in 2016, more that 60% of the advertisements directed toward children are oriented for candy and others junk foods. These foods can be the origin of several thorny problems such as overweight, malnutrition, and hypertension. Therefore, it is crystal clear that impeding mentioned advertisements would be necessary to hinder those sophisticated and problematic issues.

Admittedly, there are some justifications by one who argues that these advertisements have some benefits and they should be allowed. Chiefly, almost all the advertisements are very exciting and amusements, and hence they can provide a happy time for children. Besides, they can keep children busy for a moment and thus parents can free time for house hold tasks. However, still I affirm that advertisements aimed for children should not be permitted. Although advertisements have some profits, these advantages can be neglected. Plus, there are dozens of instructive or informative cartoons and animations that can present a joyful time for children.

Due to aforementioned ground, all folk should bear in mind that television advertising is not beneficial for children. Participation of learning and healthiness are two prime and conspicuous supports.