Tpo 10

It has long been a hot controversy among contemporary researchers that of the two options of depriving kids from video games or letting them enjoy video games which one is more preferable. Answering to this question is imperative as it deals with the lifestyle of the next generation of our societies. Video games seems to be a non-stop phenomenon in the new era. As far as I am concerned, if the parents merely try to neglect this phenomenon without considering the consequences of their act, it would be catastrophic. When it comes to me, I think video games are not waste of time.

The first plain reason for my propensity is that some video games are designed to teach. This category of game is actually beneficial to kids. The kids can experience some situations that they cannot do in real life. For instance, a game by the name of 'volcano' is about a boy who has a magic car that can go into the earth and explore the unknown different layers of earth. At each level of this game, the player should remember core elements of each layer such as iron, cobalt and etc. to pass that level. Clearly, Tutoring games can also be very informative in social sciences. A reputable game company in my country recently published a video game designed to boost the self-confidence when the players should act as the presidents of countries and choose the right commands based on the information they know about countries. Hence, the more you know about a country the more likely you will win the game. Due to a simple video game, youngsters are being encouraged to learn facts about their world.

The second reason that I should mention is that video games can sharpen the minds of children dramatically. According to a research which was conducted by one of the best universities in the United State, playing video game for children between the ages of five and ten can increase the ability of multi-tasking by forty percent and reducing the chances of getting brain cancer by thirty percent. Thus, parents should even encourage their children to play video games.

The last but not the least, parents can take advantage of video games as a prizing tool for the kids to obey them. A prime example from my own experience may shed some light on this point, I remember when I was in primary school my mother told me that she will buy me a play station and let me play with it if I do all of my homework and help her washing the dishes. By helping my mom and doing my homework every day, I hoped to play with my console. At first, my father was adversary to this way of rewarding but shortly after seeing my great grades in school, he admired my mom’s approach on using video game as a tool to persuade me to be a better person in home and school.

To conclude, considering the above reasons, not only video games are just a hobby, but also a way to sharpen the minds of our kids, letting them experience things safely and raise them better. Like all other new phenomena such as Internet and social applications which can be two edged swords, video games also needs to be used wisely. Parents should wisely let their children to play video games for a limited time and to buy the games assigned to the age of their children.