TPO 10- Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, our world is changing rapidly and all human experience a huge improvement and advancement in several fields of engineering and science. In this regard, with the development of the cutting-edge technology in the computer field, many new aspects of the computers absorb people, especially youngsters. When it comes to computer games, controversy surrounds the issue of whether parents should exercise control over their kids or not? I am of the opinion that video games have some detrimental effects on kids and parents should monitor their kids. The following explanations will further elaborate on this matter.

One of the most interesting aspects of the ongoing topic which needs to be reflected is that young people by playing video games waste their valuable time instead of studying their lessons. As a matter of fact, they play games to pass their time because they believe that they have nothing interesting going on at the moment. Therefore, it is easy for them to get stuck in that rut. Take my cousin's son for instance. He spent most of his time in front of TV by playing XBOX. In fact, he was glued to the games even for more than eight hours. Thus, he was not able to work on his assignments to get ready for final exams. Consequently, he got terrible grades and school warned his parents for this result.

Another noteworthy aspect of the ongoing topic which demands a keen contemplation is that playing for many hours may have some harmful impacts on the health of the children. In essence, people need to move or even do exercise to burn their fat and if they sit for more than a given amount they may get serious diseases. This fact should be highlighted when it comes to young people because their organs need to grow and this just can be achieved by their physical activities. To illustrate, perhaps my own experience can shed more light on this matter. When I was in the elementary school, I tend to play some interesting games like WARCRAFT. Likewise, There was nothing important going on for me in life and I felt like doing something important and worthy of my time. Hence, I gained a lot of weight just because of wasting my time without doing exercise or moving. If I had allocated less time playing games, I might have been saving the time spent for losing those extra fats.

Paradoxically, young people can expand their horizons by playing some video games. Today, games can help kids to improve their knowledge and also shape their thought. In fact, computer game makers have changed their works content to satisfy both parents and the government.

On the basis of the points mentioned above, I am pretty convinced that there are many tangible reasons for restricting children to play video games, because youngsters may waste their time, and also their health may be affected negatively by not moving and playing for several hours in front of TV. Meanwhile, kids' outlook may be expanded by playing some video games.