TPO-10 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, children are exposed to abundant computer games like Starcraft and dota which always take them a great deal of fun. Children are too crazy about them so that some claims that playing computer games is a waste of time and children should not be allowed to play them. From my perspective, however, this point of view is arbitrary and not reasonable. Playing computer games is also a beneficial activity. My reasons and examples are given below.

Initially, by playing computer games, children can acquire abundant knowledge. As is known to all, to make themselves become more real, games are always consisted of up-to-date knowledge such as psychology, physics and biology. Players can learn the knowledge unnoticeably. Take the Call of Duty as an example, weapons used by the players really exist in the reality. If children start to play the game, they will be familiar with these weapons and be alarmed in the future. Additionally, the scene of the game changes frequently which allows children to have impression of these parts of the world.

Besides, children can learn how to work in groups. Many a computer game requires player cooperating with each other to face the challenge. To pass the levels, players have to work together and shoulder different responsibilities which cultivate their team spirit. For instance, there is a famous game called Minecraft. Players use different tiny blocks to build some things like tall buildings. Usually, it needs up to millions of blocks to build a palace which require hundreds of players work together to get it done. This kind of task will undoubtedly develop children's steam spirit.

Admittedly, I am not denying that playing games is a time consuming activity. Some believe that children who spending too much time playing games cannot do well in their school work and fail the competitive edge in the future. Nevertheless, I hold that not only an A-level student but also a talented player can be successful in recent years. Wings, a team of Dota, won nearly 10 million dollar as a champion in TI6. That's why I suggest that by playing computer games, people can also pave the way for the success.

In a nutshell, playing games is not a time waster. It is not only because children can extent their outlook and inject new passion and energy into life but also because they will be aware of what team spirit is which is significant beneficial for their future career.