TPO-13: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the development of the society, there has been a dramatic change in our family structure. People tend to live a smaller size of family than they did in the past, which brings up a question: Is the extended family less important now than it was in the past? As far as I am concerned, my answer to this question is yes.

First of all, nowadays people do not stay close to their extended families as they did in the past. With the transportation system becoming more and more convenient, many people tend to leave their hometown to pursue better opportunity for their jobs. As a result, many people live very far away from their extended family and have less chance spending time with them. With time passing by, this type of long distance relationship just does not work. Therefore, it is a normal trend that the extended family becomes less important in our lives.

Moreover, many people do not have much time and energy to maintain the relationship with the extended families as they did in the past. Nowadays people need to work much longer on daily base than they did in the past, in order to keep up with the fast pace of the society. Even though many people treasure their relationship with the extended family very much, they just cannot squeeze enough time out of the busy life to maintain the relationship. Consequently, even though people do not want to admit, the extended family become less important than before because they have some many things going on in their lives.

Last but not least, the concept of extend family is becoming vague as many children do not have siblings any more. In my country China, a lot of families only have one child because of the policy from government in the past two decades. It is also very common in some western European countries that couple do not want to have kids or more than one kids because of the pressure from the society. There is no doubt that the extended family is less important to those people are living in a more independent and smaller family, which is different from the type of big family in the past.

In conclusion, even though the extended family is still important to us to some extent, it is just less important than it was before because of distance, limited time for the relationship and the smaller size of family we have nowadays.