TPO 2: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people.

It has been always a disputable issue whether we should consider telling the truth as the most significant subject in our relationships or not and it has caused heated debates over a long period of time because it affects everybody in his or her life. Although many people think that there are a lot more important considerations, if I am supposed to write about this issue I will definitely mark it as the most important consideration due to several reasons.

The first point that I would like to make is the fact that it has a direct relationship with the reliability of the person. A trustworthy person is who any one can count on him or her and take his or her advice into account and this characteristic can be affected by lying. For example, suppose your brother is telling a lie behind your back when he thinks that you have left the place and actually you are there. He can never be trusted anymore. Can he?

Another aspect of this issue and perhaps the most significant reason is the fact that telling a single lie leads to many future lies and there is always a spot that it will be revealed and its feel of shame and regret in front of others can’t be neglected. For instance, imagine that you have told your father that you will go to the library to study but actually you have hung out with your friends. This first lie leads to more lies about subjects like the book that you've studied, closing time of the library, delay of the bus and so on. Assume that you have forgotten one of your imaginary answers. What about feeling of embarrassment?

The final part refers to something may be vital for some people due to special reasons that the other one can't really understand it thoroughly. In this case, a mere lie can lead to a disaster or make a total change in the person's destiny.

In conclusion, there are many reasons answering why telling the truth is the most important consideration such as its relationship with reliability, important issues, and its future. So, if we want to evaluate a person ethically we should pay attention to this characteristic.